AOL Safer Media Award

In 2006, during the Media Forum NRW on May 24th,, AOL Germany and the Digital Opportunities Foundation awarded the AOL Safer Media Award for exemplary projects for mediation of media competency. The price was given for outstanding achievements in the protection of media services and safety in the media.

The award was presented in three categories: TV/Movies, Gaming/Games and Mobile Usage. Additionally, Klicksafe, the German junction of the EU Commission’s Safer Internet Program, gave out the klicksafe-award for online safety. Any public institution, private initiative, organisation or individual could apply.

Role of the Digital Opportunities Foundation

The Digital Opportunities Foundation worked together with experts on the pre-selection of the competition’s entries in each category. An expert jury, composed of members of the AOL securitycouncil and the Klicksafe Advisory Board, decided on the winners.

Project partners

  • AOL Germany

Project website


Funded by: AOL Germany


01.01.2006 - 01.05.2006

Your contact for this project: